Wayne Athletic Hall of Fame induction is July 25

Redd, Thieke, Cwiklik, Shrewsbury, Morgan, Fisher, Edwards and Ireland among honorees

By Greg Smart - gsmart@civitasmedia.com

Redd, Thieke, Cwiklik, Shrewsbury, Morgan, Fisher, Edwards and Ireland among honorees

By Greg Smart



HUBER HEIGHTS — The Wayne High School Athletic Hall of Fame Committee and the Huber Heights Athletic Foundation will hold the 2015 Dinner and Induction Ceremony for this year’s inductees on Saturday, July 25 at Wayne High School. The reception is at 5:30 p.m., dinner at 6 p.m. and the program begins at 6:45 p.m.

The Featured Speaker is Arnie Jones, a member of the Wayne High School Class of 1971, a Hall of Fame Charter Member, and football standout under Coach Woody Hayes at The Ohio State University.

Five athletes from the 1990s are among those being inducted.

Ronnie Redd, ‘90, a member of the Hall of Fame at Bowling Green State University in football, was a member of three Western Ohio League championship teams in football and the the 1990 team captain. In 1989, he had five interceptions, 31 catches and 432 yards.

He was first team all-WOL as a wide receiver in 1998 and had 29 catches for 553 yards, an average of 19.1 yards per reception to earn honorable mention Southwest Ohio honors. He earned first team All Ohio honors in 1989.

Kevin Thieke ‘93, lettered three years in cross country and four years in track. He was voted most improved in cross country in 1990 and 1991 and MVP in 1992 and competed at the state meet twice. He was a member of the school record setting 4×1600 relay in 1992 with a 19:07.4 clocking. He also set a school record in the 5km cross country in 16:06.

Danny Cwiklik ‘95, was a four year varsity soccer player that played in the state championship game in 1993. He was an All-Dayton Area Soccer goalie in 1994. He recorded a Wayne season record with 13 shutouts in 1993 and a Wayne career record with 44 shutouts. He was awarded a Wright State University soccer scholarship.

Evan Shrewsbury ‘99, was first in scoring for a career in soccer with 59 goals and third in scoring for a season with 27 goals. He was a first team All-Area selection and a third team All-State selection in 1997 as well as the WOL Player of the Year. In 1998, he was a first team All-Area and a second team All-State selection as well as All-Area North Player of the Year.

Ty’ Morgan ‘99, made his mark on Wayne athletics his senior year when he transferred from Graham High School. He won the state wrestling title in 1999 after winning the district and sectional titles.

Also to be inducted are Diane Ireland-Coach (cheerleading), Lt. Col Allen Edwards-community member and Sue Fisher- community member.

Ireland coached football and basketball cheerleaders over a 28 year period, from 1985 to 2013. She also served as the Athletic Dept. secretary from 1993 to 2013. She was a volunteer swim coach from 1991 to 1999.

Sue Fisher (deceased), began volunteering in 1985 for the girls softball and cheer programs at Wayne. From 1991 to 1996, she organized the two-a-day meals for the Wayne football program. She also volunteered her time with the Wayne Boosters.

Edwards began helping with the Booster Club in 1960. He was vice president in 1961 and president in 1962. He chaired the first Spring Carnival to raise money for a game filming system for the football team so teachers and staff would no longer be asked to film games. He, along with John Pierce and others started the fund drive to put lights on Heidkamp Field and over 50 percent of those funds were secured when he died in July 1963. Wayne played their first game under the light against Fairborn, winning 16-14.

Other inductees are: Marcia Heidkamp (Lutz) 1964-baseball, field hockey, basketball, tennis, volleyball; Dale Eby 1975-gymnastics; Dawn Preyor 1977-track; Ann Marie Niese 1988-track; Kellie Mitchell 1989-soccer, track, cross country, basketball; Will Allen 2000-football; Alex Lammers 2000-wrestling, Bobby Long 2000-track; Jeremy Richardson 2000-track; Jason Hodges 2002-track; and the 4×100 relay team from 2000 composed of John Hollins, Bobby Long, Jeremy Richardson and Earnest Tucker.

The dinner menu is Chicken Cordon Bleu, Italian stuffed shells, green beans almondine, twice baked potatoes, salad, rolls, and dessert.

Tickets are $20 and can be purchased by Friday, July 17 at the Huber Heights Athletic Foundation Center, 5367 Fishburg Rd. (937-233-8618) and at Wayne High School, 5400 Chambersburg Rd. (937-233-6431).

Out of town guests may request tickets to be held in “will call” to be paid for the night of the event. Contact Mrs. Crace at Wayne High School at 937-233-6431 or Mrs. Black at the Huber Heights Athletic Foundation at 937-233-8618 for additional ticket information. Dress is business attire.

This event is sponsored and funded by the Huber Heights Athletic Foundation.

Contact Mrs. Crace at Wayne High School at 937-233-6431 for more information.

Greg Smart may be reached at 937-236-4990, ext. 2542 or on Twitter @HH_Courier.com.
Greg Smart may be reached at 937-236-4990, ext. 2542 or on Twitter @HH_Courier.com.