Young Lady Warriors seek to challenge GWOC Central Division leaders


Team faces challenging schedule

By Greg Smart - gsmart@civitasmedia.com



HUBER HEIGHTS — The Lady Warrior Basketball program continues to build on youth as it seeks to improve upon its 5-15 campaign last season.

Coach Sonya Miller expressed excitement about the upcoming season. Though in a rebuilding process and the youngest team in the conference, she said the Lady Warriors look to be “fast learners” as they seek to compete with the best in conference play. Last year, Centerville won the Central Division title with a 10-0 mark while Fairmont was 8-2 and Beavercreek was 6-4 while Wayne was 3-7.

During the past two years, the Lady Warriors have graduated eight players to various athletic and academic scholarships.

“To fill that void will be challenging, but a welcome opportunity for the youngsters to learn on the fly, literally because the plan is to be flying up and down the court in an up-tempo, attacking style that will be fun to watch,” said Miller.

As for returning production, senior Shenelle Parker should factor into the equation with her leadership, and defensive presence, according to Miller.

Returning all-conference players Shai McGruder and Shaneice Jones also will be players to watch in their sophomore campaigns, said Miller. She indicated that the versatility of sophomore Maya Dunson will “fit in perfect and be the catalyst behind a unique combination of size, and skill.”

“Youth will be served as freshman Destiny Bohanon, Olivia Trice, and Mali Morgan-Elliott plan to bust on the scene and make contributions early and often as they begin their Lady Warrior careers,” said Miller.

The ladies start play in Murfreesboro,Tenn. on Friday, Nov. 29, right after Thanksgiving, participating in the 2015 Turkey Jamm Classic, competing against teams from various states, including Alabama, Georgia, and the host state Tennessee.

They will return to play their first campaign in Ohio at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 3 against Fairborn High School at Baker Middle School. Their first home game will be Dec. 9 against Lebanon High School.

That first home game will be a “white out,” so the Lady Warrior Nation is asking the community to come out and support them as they “venture into this new era and brand of basketball,” said Miller.

Miller said The Lady Warriors have worked hard all summer long as well as in the fall preseason preparing for this upcoming year. Miller said she is excited about the commitment and focus of her program top to bottom, and “can stand by the fact that no matter the result on the scoreboard, the community will be proud of her young student athletes knowing that they will play and compete as hard as any team in the state.”

“Your local support is appreciated, and they need your help to keep the Wayne train rolling, or dare we say, running as they compete with the best in the state,” concluded Miller. “The foundation is in place, the commitment is in place, and the culture won’t wait to be great, the time is now.”

Schedule

Friday, Nov. 27 at Tift County (Ga.) 4 p.m. at Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Saturday, Nov. 28 at Riverdale (Tenn) 9 p.m. at Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Sunday, Nov. 29 Carolina Prep (N.C.) TBA at Murfreesboro, Tenn.

Wednesday, Dec. 2 at Fairborn 7 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 5 at Greenville 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 9 Lebanon 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 16 at Trotwood-Madison 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Dec. 19 Beavercreek 1 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 27 Carolina Prep (N.C.) 6:30 p.m. at Withrow HS

Monday, Dec. 28 Mount Notre Dame 5:50 p.m. at Lakota West HS

Tuesday, Dec. 29 at Lakota West 7:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Dec. 30 Campbell County (Ky.) 6:30 p.m. at Withrow HS

Wednesday, Jan. 6 Northmont 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 9 at Springfield 2 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 13 Fairmont 7:30 p.m.

Sunday, Jan. 17 Shaker Heights 6:40 p.m. at Millersburg

Wednesday, Jan. 20 Centerville 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 23 at Beavercreek 1 p.m.

Wednesday, Jan. 27 at Northmont 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 30 Springfield 2 p.m.

Wednesday, Feb. 3 at Fairmont 7:30 p.m.

Saturday, Feb. 6 at Centerville 7:30 p.m.

http://aimmedianetwork.com/wp-content/uploads/sites/35/2015/11/web1_Waynelogo4.jpg
Team faces challenging schedule

By Greg Smart

gsmart@civitasmedia.com

Reach Greg Smart at 937-684-8088 or on Twitter @HH_Courier.com

Reach Greg Smart at 937-684-8088 or on Twitter @HH_Courier.com